Storage > Volumes : Configuring volumes : Deleting Snapshot copies
Deleting Snapshot copies
You can delete a Snapshot copy to conserve space or free disk space, or if the Snapshot copy is no longer needed. If you want to delete a Snapshot copy that is busy or locked, then you need to release the Snapshot copy from the application that is using it.
About this task
For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the
Data ONTAP
7-Mode
Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide
for your version of Data ONTAP.
You cannot delete the base Snapshot copy in a parent volume while a FlexClone volume using that Snapshot copy exists. The base Snapshot copy is the Snapshot copy that was used to create the FlexClone volume, and is marked "busy, vclone" in the parent volume.
You cannot delete locked Snapshot copies because SnapMirror or SnapVault is maintaining these copies for the next update.
Steps
1.
From the
Home
tab, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
In the navigation pane,
click
Storage
>
Volumes
.
3.
Select the appropriate volume for the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
4.
Click
Snapshot copies
in the lower pane of the
Volumes
window
.
5.
In the lower window pane, select the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
6.
Click
Delete
.
7.
Select the confirmation check box and click
Delete
.